Award winners named for Leavenworth Road parade

by Lou Braswell

Mother Nature shined on our Leavenworth Road Association parade again this year. She knew we needed rain, so she visited during the sleeping hours with the rain parading out of the area by mid-morning. Happy faces all around us.

The parade participants, either marching Leavenworth Road, watching and cheering on the sidelines, patrolling, traffic control, volunteering, or judging, it all shows a community working together.

Our line-up crew at Washington High School and Sunset Hills Church kept the line in order for the more than 50 entrants.

Washington RORC presented the colors along with Makynzie Sanchez singing the National Anthem. Superintendent Cynthia Lane of the Kansas City, Kansas, Public Schools was our 2017 parade marshal.

Deniese Davis was not marching in the parade, because she was still working lots of areas, as our parade chairman.

Our judges had a tough job, but did narrow it down to the winners:

Music/Dance/Precision: Kristi’s Academy of Dance

Enthusiasm/Theme: Kansas City Marching Falcons

Riding/Any mode of transportation: KCK Council of PTA

The Judges also thought the KC Gators deserved honorable mention. Our 2017 judges were Kevin Steele, Kristin Love and Russ Love; Russ was also announcer.

All trophies will be awarded at our Oct. 10 meeting at Eisenhower Center, 2901 N. 72nd St. We also begin with a potluck dinner and social hour at 6 p.m. followed by our monthly meeting at 7 p.m. We hope all winners will be there , along with our 2017 judges and all those involved behind the scenes.

Lou Braswell is the executive director of the Leavenworth Road Association.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *