Bonner Springs

Friends of the Bonner Library are having a mini book sale from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, May 30, in the storm shelter on the bottom level of the library which is located at 201 N. Nettleton in Bonner Springs.

For those who attended the last sale there are a great number of new donations, fiction, non-fiction and children’s books.

Because of the large selection there will be many specials available – a plastic grocery bag of romance will be $1, paperbacks are offered at 4 for $1 and hardbacks, many of which are like new will be only 50 cents.

All money raised benefits the library, the Friends have recently given $800 to the summer reading program and will donate $500 toward an electronic message board which will be installed inside the library.

Memorial Day service planned May 25 at Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens will hold its annual Memorial Day service at 11:30 a.m. on Monday, May 25, at the Chapel Hill-Butler Funeral Home, located on the grounds of the cemetery, 701 N. 94th St., in Kansas City, Kan. The event is free and open to the public. The service will bring cemetery associates and veterans organizations together to honor those who have given the ultimate sacrifice for their country. The sheltered, outdoor service will include information about the significance and history of Memorial Day, a memorial wreath laid at the flagpole, a rifle salute, taps and bagpipes. American Legion Post 188 will also be providing flags for our nation’s veterans who are interred in Chapel Hill.

Memorial Day service planned May 25 in Bonner Springs
A Memorial Day service is planned at 10 a.m. Monday, May 25, in Bonner Springs. Bonner Springs Mayor Jeff Harrington will be the master of ceremonies at the event. VFW Post 6401 will present the colors, perform the flag ceremony and perform a 21-gun salute. Others participating include Elaine Berg, taps; Alfred Ramirez, invocation and benediction; and Skyler Ochoa and the Bonner Springs High School Choir, national anthem and “God Bless America.”

Memorial Day commemoration planned at Emerson Park
A Memorial Day commemoration is planned at 11 a.m. Monday, May 25, at Emerson Park, Strong Avenue and South 29th Street, Kansas City, Kan. The commemoration is open to the public. It is sponsored by American Legion Post No. 213 in collaboration with the KC Area Chapter, American GI Forum. The commemoration will remember those who died while serving in the nation’s armed forces. Those who attend are asked to bring lawn chairs.

Memorial Day Masses to be held at local cemeteries
Catholic Cemeteries of Northeast Kansas will hold Memorial Day Masses on Monday, May 25, at these locations and times:
• Gate of Heaven Cemetery, 126th and Parallel Parkway, Kansas City, Kan., 9 a.m.; celebrated by the Rev. Jeremiah Spencer.
• Mt. Calvary Cemetery, 38th and State Avenue, Kansas City, Kan., 9 a.m.; celebrated by the Rev. Mark Mertes; liturgical music by Ed Grisnik.
For more information, call 913-371-4040 (Kansas City area) or 785-272-0820 (Topeka area); email ; or


A Dodge Grand Caravan ran a red light and hit two vehicles at 8:35 a.m. May 20 on K-7 north of 47th Street in Johnson County, according to a Kansas Highway Patrol trooper’s report.

The driver of the Caravan, a 67-year-old Bonner Springs woman, was injured and taken to a hospital, the report stated.

The driver of a Ford F350, the second vehicle, was also injured, according to the report. He is a 45-year-old Gardner, Kan., man.

The third vehicle was a Toyota Corolla, and the driver was injured and taken to a hospital, the report stated. The driver is a 31-year-old woman from Bonner Springs.