Two Wyandotte County students named to dean’s list at Creighton

Two students from Wyandotte County have been named to the spring 2014 dean’s list at Creighton University, Omaha, Neb.

They are Lin Lau of Kansas City, Kan., a senior in the College of Arts and Sciences; and Brandon Leppke of Bonner Springs, a senior in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Full-time students who earn at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale are eligible for the dean’s honor roll.


Two Wyandotte County students on honor list at Rolla

Two Wyandotte County students at Missouri University of Science and Technology have made the honor list for the 2014 spring semester.

They are Hannah Katherine Jokisch of Bonner Springs, Kan., a senior in chemical engineering; and Ezekiel Ian Lyle Reynolds of Kansas City, Kan., a senior in mining engineering.

Those on the list carried a minimum of 12 hours and had grade point averages of 3.2 or above out of a possible 4.0. The university is in Rolla, Mo.


Two youth recognized for volunteer efforts

Kohl’s Department Stores recognized two youth from Wyandotte County today in its Kohl’s Cares Scholarship Program.

The two were among 25 from Kansas who will each receive a $50 gift card and recognition certificate from Kohl’s to honor their community service efforts.

The two youth honored from Wyandotte County were Wyatt Caldwell, 8, Edwardsville; and Braden Korgol, 8, Bonner Springs.

They were among 2,300 youth honored nationwide for their volunteerism.

The local winners will compete in a regional competition in July to win a $1,000 scholarship for higher education. Then, regional winners will compete for a $10,000 national scholarship. Ten will be awarded in the nation.