Archive for Edwardsville

Wyandotte County students named to semester honors list at Kansas State University

Wyandotte County students have earned semester honors for the fall 2017 semester at Kansas State University.

Students earning a grade point average for the semester of 3.75 or above while taking at least 12 credit hours received semester honors and commendations from their deans. The honors are recorded on their permanent academic records.

Earning honors from Wyandotte County:

From Bonner Springs: Lucy Florez, Jennifer Hammond, Noah Minshew, Kemberly Sanchez and Tanner Tavis.

From Edwardsville: Caylee Merrow.

From Kansas City, Kansas: Adrienne Alder, Absalom Bernal, Theodore Bynum, Francisco Cardoza, Lindsay Chassay, Gabriela De La Cruz, Britani Eickhoff, Brady Gooch, Hope Grable, Breanne Hardiman, Madison Hays, Sandy Her, Meagan Johnson, Anna Kucera, Abril Lara, T-Ying Lin, Clayton Lucas, Philip Lucas, Sylvia Sue Martin-Cox, Abigial Morris, Sarah Morris, Elena Nicholson, Alexia Oehlert, Amber Paxton, Kelly Pham, Logan Stacer, Alyssa Strain, Shelbey Taylor, Zoua Vang, Kiernan Vining, Corinne White, Mary Winzer and Jamie Xiong.


Edwardsville students donate thousands of items for hurricane relief

Edwardsville Elementary students recently donated thousands of items for hurricane victims’ relief. (Photo from Kaela Williams, Bonner Springs-Edwardsville Public Schools)

by Kaela Williams, Bonner Springs-Edwardsville Public Schools communications coordinator

Edwardsville Elementary School students and staff have collected 3,292 items to help victims in Texas who were affected by Hurricane Harvey.

The students participated in the community-wide effort led by the Edwardsville Fire Department. Edwardsville Fire Chief Tim Whitham came up with the idea to collect items that were transported to areas affected by the hurricane. The items from Edwardsville school were dropped off last weekend to be sent to hurricane victims.

Items such as toiletries, towels and baby wipes were collected for hurricane relief. The city of Edwardsville, Edwardsville-Bonner Spring Kiwanis Club and local distribution company EARP quickly offered to help collect items across the community.

Edwardsville Elementary Principal Tracy Copeland saw the project coming to life and immediately reached out to Chief Whitham to see how the school could get involved.

“Knowing that one of EDW’s core beliefs is that all students demonstrate character traits through community involvement, I saw this as an excellent opportunity for our future leaders to help out their community; we want to reciprocate the support that we have received from our own community while also helping those ravaged by Harvey,” Copeland said.

The school had a friendly competition between classes to see which group could collect the most items. The winning class will have lunch with members of the Edwardsville Fire Department.

– Story and photo from Kaela Williams, Bonner Springs-Edwardsville Public Schools communications coordinator.


Washburn announces seven President’s List honorees from Wyandotte County

Washburn University, Topeka, Kansas, has announced its President’s List honorees for the spring 2017 semester.

Students on the list were enrollment in at least 12 hours of graded credits and earned a semester grade point average of 4.0.

Students on the list from Wyandotte County included;

From Bonner Springs, Kansas:

Emily Vitt
Jaime Weible

From Edwardsville, Kansas:

Kathryn Elkins

From Kansas City, Kansas:

Madelin Hayes
Melody Samuels
Anne Seeberger
Jacob Talkin