Severe thunderstorm warning in effect

A severe thunderstorm warning is in effect for central Wyandotte County until 4 p.m. Saturday, according to the National Weather Service.

At 3:37 p.m., a severe thunderstorm was located over Bonner Springs, moving east at 30 mph, the weather service said.

The storm has 60 mph wind gusts and quarter-size hail, the weather service said.

Hail damage to vehicles is expected, and also to roofs, siding and trees.

Bonner Springs, Edwardsville and Kansas City, Kansas, are listed in the path of the storm.

Residents in the path of the storm are asked to move to an interior room on the lowest floor of the building, the weather service said.

Edwardsville student participates in Webster University play

Kat Anderson of Edwardsville, Kansas, recently participated in a play presented at Webster University, St. Louis, Missouri.

Students from the Conservatory of Theatre Arts at Webster University recently designed, constructed and performed “Photograph 51” by Anna Ziegler. The play centered around Rosalind Franklin, a 20th Century scientist, and her efforts to map the contours of the DNA molecule.

Anderson is studying costume design at the Conservatory of Theatre Arts at Webster University.