Pioneers top Bears 85-35 in UKC opener

Turner senior Reneaux Jackson (12) went up for a finger roll in the first half of Friday night’s game against Leavenworth. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)

by Brian Turrel

The Turner Bears got a rude welcome to United Kansas Conference basketball, falling 85-35 to the visiting Leavenworth Pioneers on Friday night.

The Pioneers held a significant height advantage and used their length in a crushing press defense that limited the Bears’ offense throughout the game.

The Bears saw some success in breaking the Leavenworth press, especially early in the second half, with outlet passes down the side to Reneaux Jackson, who used his speed to finish those plays at the rim.

The loss drops the Bears to 0-5 on the season. They will play next at Lansing on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Junior Jalen Nelson (10) was defended by Leavenworth senior Nathan Dalby (12). (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Jackson took a steal back for a drive in the lane, but was called for a charge against Leavenworth junior JaHawn Byrd (15). (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Leavenworth junior Reece Williams (33) went up for a dunk. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Sophomore guard Chris Pursley (3) drove the ball against a Leavenworth defender. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


The Turner Goldenettes dance group performed at halftime. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Junior Nick Gordon (20) brought the ball up court. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Senior Chris Burch (22) took a short-range jump shot in the lane. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Jalen Nelson went up for a layup on a fast break. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)


Junior TyRay Washington (14) dribbled in for a score in the second half. (Photo copyright 2019 by Brian Turrel)

Blood drive planned Jan. 5

TRC Community will hold a Community Blood Center blood drive from 9 a.m. to noon Saturday, Jan. 5, at the Turner Recreation Commission gym, 831 S. 55th St., Kansas City, Kansas.

The blood drive is in memory of Jessie Gentry.

To schedule a donation or for more information, visit or call 816-753-4040. Drop-in or scheduled donations are accepted. The scheduling code for TRC is Enter Group Code: CB7O (last digit is an O not zero) .

Man indicted for alleged drug deal within 1,000 feet of Junction school

A federal grand jury returned an indictment today alleging drug deals were taking place within 1,000 feet of Junction Elementary School, U.S. Attorney Stephen McAllister said.

Michael Pruitt, 48, who is in federal custody, was charged with two counts of distributing methamphetamine and one count of possession with intent to distribute methamphetamine within 1,000 feet of the school at 2570 S. 42nd St. in Kansas City, Kansas.

According to court documents, three times in November 2018 investigators working undercover bought methamphetamine from Pruitt.

The transactions took place at a business at 4200 Shawnee Drive. A search of that business turned up almost two pounds of methamphetamine, according to court documents.

If convicted, Pruitt faces a penalty of not less than five years on the first distribution count, and not less than 10 years on each of the other counts. The Kansas Bureau of Investigation investigated. Assistant U.S. Attorney Sheri Catania is prosecuting.