Archive for Edwardsville

Severe thunderstorm warning issued for Wyandotte County

Update: The severe thunderstorm warning has been extended until 11:15 p.m. Saturday in Wyandotte County.

The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm warning until 10:30 p.m. for central Wyandotte County, as well as parts of Johnson and Jackson counties.

The thunderstorm was located over Lenexa at 9:51 p.m., moving east at 40 mph, according to the weather service.

The weather service said 70 mph wind gusts and penny-size hail are possible.

There may be considerable tree damage, as well as damage to mobile homes, roofs and outbuildings, according to the weather service.

Among locations in the path of the storm: Kansas City, Kansas, Bonner Springs, and Edwardsville as well as cities on both sides of the state line.


Filing deadline passes; candidate list expands for election in Wyandotte County

The candidate filing deadline passed at noon Thursday, June 1, and a list of candidates was posted around 3 p.m. by the Wyandotte County Election Commissioner’s office.

The primary election will be Aug. 1 and the general election will be Nov. 7.

Five candidates are running for mayor-CEO of the Unified Government. They include Incumbent Mayor Mark Holland, as well as David Alvey, a Board of Public Utilities member; State Sen. David Haley; D. Keith Jordan; and Janice Grant Witt.

Running for the Unified Government, at-large, District 2, are Tom Burroughs, currently a state representative, and John “J.D.” Rios, currently chair of the Kansas City Kansas Community College trustees.

Running for UG Commissioner, 1st District, are Incumbent Commissioner Gayle E. Townsend and Victor A. Harris.

Running for UG Commissioner, 5th District, are Incumbent Commissioner Mike Kane, Sarah Kremer, and John Fotovich.

Candidates for UG Commissioner, 7th District, include Incumbent Commissioner Jim Walters, Jim A. Gibson and George Cooper.

Candidates for UG Commissioner, 8th District, include Incumbent Commissioner Jane W. Philbrook, Brad Isnard and Kendon McClaine.

Running for Wyandotte County Sheriff are Incumbent Sheriff Don Ash, Charles W. Bunnell, Marvin L. Main, Celisha Towers and Victor Webb.

Running for the Board of Public Utilities, District 2, is incumbent Thomas W. Groneman.

Candidates for BPU member, at large position 1, include incumbent Mary Gonzales, Kevin Braun, Bryan Messmer and Nikole C. Owens.

Running for BPU member, at large position 2, are Ryan Eidson and John C. Martindale.

For the KCKCC Board of Trustees, regular term, the candidates are Evelyn Criswell, Thomas G. Earp, Colton J. Gibson, Linda Hoskins Sutton, Janice L. McIntyre, Leslie Smith, and Christal Watson.

Running for the KCKCC Board of Trustees, unexpired terms, are Rosalyn K. Brown and Tyrone Garner, both current KCKCC trustees.

Running for the Kansas City, Kansas, Board of Education, District 500, regular term, are Incumbent Irene Caudillo, Maxine Drew, Wanda Brownlee Paige, Joseph A. Straws III, Stacy Yeager, and Maria Cecilia Ysaac.

Running for the Kansas City, Kansas, Board of Education, District 500, unexpired terms are Incumbent Rick Behrens, Incumbent Janey Humphries, Harold Brown and Korri Hall Thompson.

Running for the Turner School Board, District 202, regular term, are Incumbent Joy D. Beery, Incumbent Jeff Davidson, Incumbent Steve Russell and Daniel Soptic.

Running for the Piper School Board, District 203, regular term, are Incumbent Desiree Fergus, John Bakarich III, Benjamin J. Bradley, Theresa Fisette and Jesse Smith.

Candidates for the Bonner Springs School Board, District 204, regular term, include Incumbent Kimberly Beets, Incumbent Jeff Tinberg, and Incumbent David J. Toland, and John H. Claxton.

Running for the Bonner Springs City Council are Incumbent Rodger Shannon, Jordan M. Mackey, Patricia E. Welicky, Tom Stephens, and Joe Peterson.

Running for Edwardsville mayor is Incumbent Mayor John “Tiny” McTaggart.

Running for Edwardsville City Council are Incumbent Jason T. Gillam, Incumbent Margaret Shriver, and Carolyn Caiharr.


Victim of fatal Edwardsville fire identified

Edwardsville authorities have identified the victim of a fatal fire March 7 in the 500 block of South 4th Street.

The victim was Amanda Pontalion, 38 years old, according to Edwardsville fire officials.

After an autopsy, authorities stated that the victim died from smoke inhalation.

Edwardsville firefighters, responding to the fire around 11 a.m. Tuesday, were told by neighbors that some occupants of the apartment building were unaccounted for and might be in the apartment.

While fighting the fire, they discovered Pontalion deceased in the apartment, a spokesman said. No other persons were injured. The firefighters also found and helped rescue another person in an adjacent apartment.

Three of the eight apartment units were inhabitable after the fire, authorities stated. The American Red Cross assisted 11 residents of the building with temporary shelter. Those living in undamaged units were able to return home Wednesday night.

The Bonner Springs Fire Department assisted in fire suppression and salvage. Fire investigators from Edwardsville Fire Department were assisted by the Edwardsville Police Department as well as the Kansas City, Kansas, Fire Department and the Kansas State Fire Marshal.