I-635 ramp reopens after traffic investigation

The northbound I-635 ramp to Metropolitan Avenue has reopened after a traffic investigation Wednesday.

The ramp was shut down around 3:30 p.m., and was closed while Kansas Highway Patrol officers investigated a traffic incident. It reopened around 7 p.m.

A chase involving a law enforcement vehicle and a suspect vehicle was reported in the I-635 to Metropolitan area this afternoon.

June revenues decrease at Hollywood Casino

Revenues were down from May to June at the Hollywood Casino at Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.

According to figures released today by the Kansas Lottery Commission, revenues in June were $10.4 million as compared to $11.6 million in May.

In a written report to the Kansas Racing and Gaming Commission, Bob Sheldon, vice president of Hollywood Casino, stated that total gaming revenue this June was 2.8 percent less than last June.

Slot revenue increased eight-tenths of a percent over the previous year, while table games revenue decreased 21.2 percent when compared with June 2013. There was a large swing in hold percentage compared to last June, which had an abnormally high hold, according to his report.

Sheldon also pointed out there was one less Saturday in June 2014 than in June 2013.

Marketing promotional efforts were consistent, and included a “Spring into Summer” drawing in June, with a $15,000 cash prize, he noted.

At the Kansas Star Casino in Mulvane, Kan., revenues dropped from $15.3 million in May to $14 million in June. That casino near Wichita saw a 15 percent drop in June 2014 admissions as compared to June 2013 admissions, and a 10 percent drop in revenues.

The Boot Hill Casino in Dodge City, Kan., reported a 6.2 percent decrease in total gaming revenue from May to June 2014. Revenues were $3.1 million in June 2014 as compared to $3.4 million in May 2014.

Visitation was down in June because of the start of the harvest for many farmers in southwest Kansas, according to the Boot Hill report.

Winn appointed to Commission on Judicial Qualifications

Rep. Val Winn

State Rep. Valdenia Winn, D-34th Dist., has been appointed by the Kansas Supreme Court to the Commission on Judicial Qualifications.

She is a professor of history at Kansas City Kansas Community College and represents a legislative district in Kansas City, Kan.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to have been appointed by the chief justice. I’m really excited about that,” Rep. Winn said.

Winn is the sole nonlawyer of the four appointments to the commission that were announced. The other appointments were Brenda Cameron, a district court judge from Johnson County who was appointed to the bench in 2002; Larry D. Hendricks, a district court judge from Shawnee County who was appointed to the bench in 2006; and Jeffrey A. Mason of Goodland, who was reappointed to the commission as a lawyer member. Mason has practiced law in Goodland since 1983 and is a member of the firm Vignery and Mason L.L.C. He was first appointed to the commission in 2006.

The Commission on Judicial Qualifications helps the Supreme Court exercise its authority in judicial disciplinary matters.

The appointments are for four-year terms beginning July 1, 2014, and ending June 30, 2018. The 14-member commission includes six active or retired judges, four lawyers and four nonlawyers.

“Members of the Commission on Judicial Qualifications play an important role upholding the Code of Judicial Conduct and we appreciate their commitment to this duty,” said Lawton Nuss, chief justice of the Supreme Court.

Commission members are assigned to one of two panels. In formal matters, one panel investigates the complaint, while the other conducts the hearing, which separates the investigative and judicial functions.

Complaints about a judge can arise when the judge fails to comply with the Code of Judicial Conduct or has a disability that is so serious it interferes with his or her ability to perform required judicial duties.