Archive for Sports

T-Bones add High School Series

The Kansas City T-Bones have added a new High School Series at CommunityAmerica Ballpark in Kansas City, Kan.

Although games are played each spring at CommunityAmerica Ballpark, this is the first time the T-Bones will be hosting six individual baseball games, one softball game and the annual Bonner Springs Butch Foster Memorial Baseball Tournament. More than 20 teams will participate throughout the spring.

“This is a great opportunity for high school student-athletes to play baseball on a professional field,” said T-Bones vice president and general manager Chris Browne, in a news release. “We’re thrilled to welcome these teams and their fans, many of whom are from outside our metro area, to the T-Bones and CommunityAmerica Ballpark. Kansas City, Kansas is a tremendous destination spot, and this is a nice addition to our event schedule in 2017.”

Here are the scheduled matchups throughout the spring:

March 23 at 4:30 p.m. — Heritage Christian Academy vs. University Academy
April 6 at 4:30 p.m. — Cameron vs. Maryville
April 8 at 11:00 a.m. — Sherwood vs. Lafayette
April 21 at 4:30 p.m. — Piper vs. Bonner Springs
April 22 at 1:00 p.m. — Olathe Cyclones (USSSA) vs. Shawnee Cougars (USSSA)
April 24 at 4:30 p.m. — North Kansas City vs. Oak Park
April 26 at 4:00 p.m. — Lexington vs. Knob Noster
April 27-29 — Bonner Springs Butch Foster Memorial Baseball Tournament

Tickets for each game will be available at the gate.

Browne added that it’s possible other teams may take part this season.

“We’re still working on a few more game dates and are looking to add to our spring schedule,” he said.

Schools that would like to take part in this season’s High School Series at CommunityAmerica Ballpark may contact Kacy Muller at 913-328-5618 or

– Story from Matt Fulks, T-Bones

KCKCC rally falls short 67-64; to play Brown Mackie Saturday

by Alan Hoskins, KCKCC

Kansas City Kansas Community College held a talented Washburn JV team to just one field goal the final 6½ minutes of play Wednesday but couldn’t overcome an 8-point deficit in a 67-64 setback.

The Blue Devils had a chance to tie with 6.7 seconds left but Kellen Turner’s 3-point attempt missed and the Ichabods clinched it with a pair of free throws.

The Blue Devils are right back in action Saturday when they play host to Brown Mackie in the second half of a 2-4 p.m. doubleheader. It will be Brown Mackie’s final game at KCKCC as the college will no longer offer basketball after this season.

Turner continued his outstanding spring semester shooting, scoring a game high 21 points including 6-of-11 free throw points. He also led KCKCC in rebounding with eight. Turner, who was 5-of-6 from distance in the first half, has now scored 113 points in the first five games of the second half of the season.

Mike Lee added 15 points, four rebounds and a game high five assists, Daniel Kingcannon contributed 10 points in a key reserve role and Jon Murray had seven rebounds and six points.

KCKCC led 38-35 at halftime but the Ichabods took advantage of a 45-36 rebound superiority top build a 61-55 lead with 6:30 remaining. Darren Spruill’s field goal, Wasbburn’s only basket during a furious finish, kept the lead at 65-59 only to have Lane Hartley cut the KCKCC deficit to 65-63 with a 3-pointer with 1:13 to go.

However, the Blue Devils could not score again until a Turner jump shot at the final horn.

The Blue Devils committed just eight turnovers in the contest but managed just 9-of-32 second half shots for 28.1 percent in their second game in two nights.

T-Bones add infielder and pitcher

The Kansas City T-Bones have signed Jordan Edgerton and Cody Winiarski to contracts for the 2017 season.

Edgerton, 23 (08-30-93), is a 6-foot-1 and 190-pound third baseman from Belmont, N.C. He played for Atlanta’s high-A affiliate at Carolina last season, batting .215 with 97 hits in 121 games.

The Braves selected Edgerton in the ninth round of the 2014 June MLB Draft out of the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. In three seasons, Edgerton is a .239 hitter with 259 hits, 57 doubles, five triples, 11 home runs, 155 RBIs and 102 runs scored in 287 games.

“Jordan is a player that is looking to have a bounce back year and I believe he will, and will do it in Kansas City,” T-Bones manager Joe Calfapietra said.

Winiarski, 27 (08-27-89), is a 6-foot-3 and 205-pound right-handed pitcher from Union Grove, Wis. The Chicago White Sox selected Winiarski in the 36th round of the 2011 June MLB Draft out of the University of Virginia, where he pitched for the Cavaliers in the 2011 College World Series.

Winiarski spent parts of three seasons, 2013-15, at double-A Birmingham before his ’15 season came to an end in July of that year for “Tommy John” surgery. He pitched in just one game in 2016. During his five-year career, Winiarski is 4-7 with 26 saves and a 4.00 ERA in 114 games (one start). In 157 2/3 innings, Winiarski has 197 strikeouts and 60 walks.

“With Cody, I’m very excited to acquire a big piece to our bullpen,” Calfapietra said.

Additionally, the T-Bones have signed infielder Eddie Newton and outfielder Daniel Rockett, each of whom they acquired in a trade with New Jersey last week. The club announced, also, that it has released catchers Nolan Johnson and Tyler Moore.

Kansas City now has eight players — four pitchers — signed for 2017.

The T-Bones open the 2017 regular season at home on May 19 against Lincoln.

– Story from Matt Fulks, T-Bones