Drivers take practice runs at Kansas Speedway

Race car drivers have been in Kansas City, Kansas, Monday and Tuesday to take practice runs for the Hollywood Casino 400 race.

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race will be Oct. 21 at the Kansas Speedway.

Chase Eliot and Jamie McMurray came in with the two fastest times for Monday, followed by Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr. and Joey Logano.

Two drivers commented on the practices.

“Having lap time here is good,” said Kyle Busch, who secured his spot in the second round of the playoffs with a win this past weekend at Richmond Raceway. “There aren’t that many similar tracks in the playoffs anymore, they are all their own animal … people talk about the mile and a half tracks being similar but they are all so different and they keep getting more different with one another with the aging. It’s getting pretty crazy setting up our cars for a race weekend.”

With Talladega Superspeedway the week before the Hollywood Casino 400, the drivers know that winning at Kansas Speedway is crucial for their playoff hopes and building on 2019. But for one driver, a win would be a chance to visit Gatorade Victory Lane at Kansas Speedway again.

“It’s been way too long since I won here and it would be great to win the Hollywood Casino 400,” said Ty Dillon, who won his first career ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards race at Kansas Speedway. “This place is great and I don’t know what they’ve been doing to the track surface, but it’s really good and is providing great racing. You never know what is going to happen at Kansas Speedway.”

All Kansas Speedway tickets are currently on sale by calling 866-460-RACE (7223) or by logging onto

Statistics from the first day of practice:
Chase Elliott, 28.958 time, 186.477 speed;
Jamie McMurray, 29.387 time, 183.755 speed;
Kyle Busch, 29.448 time; 183.374 speed;
Martin Truex Jr., 29.496 time; 183.076 speed;
Joey Logano, 29.518 time; 182.939 speed;
Paul Menard, 29.555 time, 182.710 speed;
Kurt Busch, 29.639 time, 182.192 speed;
Matt Kenseth, 29.646 time, 182.149 speed;
Cole Custer, 29.691 time, 181.873 speed;
Chris Buescher, 29.750 time, 181.513 speed;
Ty Dillon, 29.804 time, 181.184 speed;
Austin Dillon, 29.974 time, 180.156 speed;
Drew Herring, 30.073 time, 179.563 speed;
Justin Allgaier, 30.597 time, 176.488 speed;
David Ragan, 30.718 time, 175.793 speed.

– Information from Kelly Hale, director of public relations, Kansas Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *