Early voting begins Saturday at three sites

Early voting begins for the Unified Government, schools and Board of Public Utilities general election on Saturday, Oct. 26, at three locations in Wyandotte County.

The general election is expected to be a test of how well individual candidates can get their supporters out to the polls, as there are no contests for president, Congress, governor or the state Legislature on the ballot.

According to information from the election office, three early voting centers will be open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26.

The three sites and their hours:

• Wyandotte County Election Office, 850 State Ave., open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, Oct. 28-Nov. 1; 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2; and 8 a.m. to noon Monday, Nov. 4.

• Joe Amayo – Argentine Community Center, 2810 Metropolitan Ave., open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26; 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, Oct. 28-Nov. 1; and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2.

• Eisenhower Recreation Center, 2901 N. 72nd St., open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, Oct. 28-Nov 1; and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2.

Residents also may vote early by mail. Mail ballots must be returned to the election office in person by 7 p.m. Election Day, Nov. 5, or may be mailed back, postmarked by Election Day, Nov. 5, and received by the Friday after the election to be counted, according to information from the election office.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 5, and voters may cast their ballots at their assigned polling places from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. that day.

For more information about voting and polling places, visit www.WyCoVotes.org, facebook.com/WyandotteElection, or call 913-573-8500.

On the ballot

More stories about the candidates will be added before the Nov. 5 election.

Unified Government Commission

1st District at large:
Incumbent Commissioner Melissa Bynum is opposed by Mark Gilstrap, a former state senator.

2nd District
Incumbent Commissioner Brian McKiernan, unopposed.

3rd District
Incumbent Commissioner Ann Murguia is opposed by Christian A. Ramirez.

4th District
Incumbent Commissioner Harold Johnson is opposed by Jorge L. Flores.

6th District
Incumbent Commissioner Angela Markley is opposed by Diana Aguirre.

To see a video of a candidate forum with UG Commission candidates, visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlURCn044gE.

Register of Deeds

Incumbent Nancy Burns is opposed by Tscher Manck.
To see a video of a candidate forum with Register of Deeds candidates, visit

Board of Public Utilities, at large position 3

David Haley, a state senator, and Rose Mulvany Henry, a utility attorney, are running for the position.

BPU, 1st District

Incumbent Robert “Bob” Milan is opposed by LaRon Thompson, the family pastor at Paseo Baptist Church and a payroll specialist at a private transportation firm.

BPU, 3rd District

Incumbent Jeff Bryant is opposed by Stan S. Frownfelter, a state representative.

To see a video of a candidate forum with BPU candidates, visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWD4FaDy_hM.

Kansas City Kansas Community College Board of Trustees

(Vote for four)
Donald Ash, incumbent
Rosalyn Brown, incumbent
Patricia L. Brune
Ray Daniels, incumbent
Jammie A. Johnson
Paul P.J. Jones

To see a video of a candidate forum with KCKCC Board of Trustees candidates, visit

Kansas City, Kansas, Board of Education, District 500

(Vote for four)
Gary E. Bradley-Lopez
Yolanda S. Clark
Monica Crowe
Karen French
Janey Humphries, incumbent
Brenda C. Jones, incumbent, has resigned from the board for health reasons since filing for office.
Randy Lopez
Hattie L. Smith
Joseph A. Straws
Frieda Tresvan
Valdenia C. Winn, incumbent

To see a video of a candidate forum with KCK Board of Education candidates, visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZe1bGf6P4s.

Turner Board of Education

Becky Billigmeier
Bryan Fishbaugh
Daniel Soptic
Theresa Tillery

Piper Board of Education

Larry K. Beashore
Ashley Biondi
Kim Brown
Jeb Vader

Bonner Springs-Edwardsville Board of Education

John H. Claxton
Pam Lawson
Jennifer McConico
David Pierce
Ashley Razak

Bonner Springs city

Jeff W. Harrington
Jordan M. Mackey

Bonner Springs City Council, 1st Ward

Mike Thompson

Bonner Springs City Council, 2nd Ward

Dani Gurley

Bonner Springs City Council, 3rd Ward

Robert W. Reeves

Bonner Springs City Council, 4th Ward

Mark Kipp

Edwardsville City Council

Chuck Adams
Garrett Mellott
Charles E. Stites II

Lake Quivira Mayor

Brady Allan Lilja
John. Nelson

Lake Quivira Council member at large

Gayle Best
Randy Burgess
David McCullagh
Andrea “Annie” Noland
Greg Prieb

Constitutional amendment

There also is a constitutional amendment on the ballot concerning the counting of students and military members for the U.S. Census. This constitutional amendment may be read on a sample ballot available at https://myvoteinfo.voteks.org/VoterView/RegistrantSearch.do.

Links to stories about the election:

Past stories about the elections in 2019 are found under the category, Election 2019, on the Wyandotte Daily website, at http://wyandottedaily.com/category/election-2019/.

Candidate forums for Unified Government commissioner, Board of Public Utilities, KCKCC, Kansas City, Kansas, Board of Education and Wyandotte County Register of Deeds are being shown online and on KCEC cable channel on Spectrum Cable (Wyandotte County) on Channel 17, and on Google TV on Channel 146. The forums will be shown through Nov. 4. They also are online at YouTube at https://www.youtube.com/user/KCECable.

Some past stories about the 2019 election include:

Candidates support collecting debts from T-Bones’ former owner, http://wyandottedaily.com/candidates-support-collecting-debts-from-t-bones/

KCKCC candidates get an ‘A’ for civility,

Audit spurs questions at community meeting on KCK schools,

Two state legislators advance to general election in BPU contests,

UG Commission contests on Tuesday include some rematches (primary),

Candidates run for BPU Districts 1 and 3 (primary),

BPU at large 3rd District race (primary),

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *