Edwardsville EMS director wins state award

Tony Burr, Edwardsville Emergency Medical Services director, was named the Kansas EMS Administrator of the Year.

The award was given by the Kansas Emergency Medical Services Association at its annual banquet, held this year at the Kansas Star Casino in Mulvane, Kan.

It is a great honor for someone from a city with fewer than 5,000 residents to win a statewide award, according to Zack Daniel, assistant to the city manager of Edwardsville.

Burr was one of 12 finalists from across the state for the award, and usually, there are only three to four finalists, Daniel said.

Burr joined the Edwardsville EMS in 2014, at a time when it was in a transition, according to Daniel. The EMS supervisor had resigned and the fire chief positions was not yet permanently filled.

Burr faced a mass resignation of volunteer EMS responders because of a disagreement about compensation. He addressed issues while preparing for future development in the EMS division, according to Daniel.

Burr is an Army veteran who was previously a paramedic and shift supervisor with the Atchison County EMS and an assistant EMS director for Leavenworth County EMS. He is certified as a driver operator, instructor and safety officer, and is currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Executive Fire Officer Program.

– Information from Edwardsville city

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *