Kansas City, Kan., police and fire authorities are reminding the community that there are laws and ordinances governing the discharge of fireworks in the city and also governing the discharge of firearms.
Starting July 1, it became legal for persons to openly carry firearms within Kansas. However, this does not mean persons are allowed to discharge a firearm within the city limits, as defined in section 22-177 of the city ordinances, a KCK spokesman said.
More information about the laws governing fireworks from a Kansas City, Kan., police spokesman:
Citizens are reminded that the discharge of Class “C” fireworks is only allowed between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. of each day from July 2 through July 4, in accordance with City Ordinance 15-93. A list of Class “C” fireworks that are approved for discharge, and any limitations, can be found in Section 15-90 of the Kansas City, Kan., City Ordinances.
Prohibited fireworks, unless otherwise provided for in the City Ordinances, include Bottle Rockets, Sky Rockets, Missile-type Rockets, and Unmanned aerial luminary, as defined in section 15-91 of the City Ordinances.
In order to shoot a public display you must comply with the requirements of City Ordinance 15-94, which includes application for permit requirements, insurance policy requirements and requirements for conduct of the display.
To shoot Commercial Class “B” fireworks, you must hold a valid Display Operator’s License issued by the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office. Requirements for obtaining this license can be obtained from the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office.
Storage, sales and handling of fireworks is regulated by City Ordinance 15-92. Persons involved in sales of fireworks are reminded that sales of Class “C” fireworks are permitted only between the hours of 9 a.m. and 10 p.m. for each day from June 29 through July 4 without exception. A copy of City Ordinance 15-91 and 15-93, which governs the discharge of fireworks, in both English and Spanish, is required to be distributed with each sale.
Violation of fireworks ordinances is punishable by fines of no more than $2,000 or by imprisonment in the city jail for a period not exceeding 90 days.