Sporting KC fans voting on Sporting Legends inductee

Sporting Kansas City fans are voting for the inductee to the 2017 Sporting Legends award this week.

The four nominees for the honor are defender Nick Garcia, midfielder Diego Guterrez, midfielder Mo Johnston and forward Josh Wolff.

Online voting continues through 11:59 p.m. Tuesday, April 18.

The 2017 inductee will be selected via the fan vote and will be recognized as the newest Sporting Legend on May 17 when Sporting Kansas City plays host to defending MLS Cup champion Seattle Sounders FC at 7:30 p.m.

The Sporting Legends hall of honor, established in 2013, pays tribute to club icons and provides a platform for inductees to reconnect with the Kansas City soccer community on an annual basis. Eight individuals have been named Sporting Legends for their invaluable contributions to the Sporting Kansas City organization and to the growth of soccer throughout the region.

Previous honorees include:
• 2013: Preki, Tony Meola, Bob Gansler
• 2014: Peter Vermes, Jimmy Conrad, Lamar Hunt
• 2015: Chris Klein
• 2016: Kerry Zavagnin

As the previous eight members of Sporting Legends, this year’s inductee will have his name adorned outside The Victory Suite in the northwest corner of Children’s Mercy Park. The 2017 Sporting Legend will also participate in local activities during the week of May 17 to engage with supporters and leave a philanthropic impact on the Kansas City community.

– Information from Sporting KC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *