Two state legislators advance to general election in BPU contests

Two state legislators who ran for the Board of Public Utilities advanced to the general election on Tuesday night.

The primary election had a 9.3 percent turnout. In some precincts, there were only two contests on the ballot.

Unofficial results showed that State Sen. David Haley and State Rep. Stan Frownfelter led in the BPU, at large position 3 and the BPU, District 3, contests.

Haley, who had 2,400 votes, will face Rose Mulvany Henry, who received 1,607 votes. The general election for BPU, at large position 3, will be Nov. 5. Norm Scott was third with 1,067 votes.

Frownfelter, who had 653 votes, will face incumbent Jeff Bryant, who had 465 votes, in the BPU, 3rd District contest.

Incumbent Commissioner Melissa Brune Bynum will face Mark Gilstrap in the general election, in a rematch of the 2015 contest. She received 2,709 votes to Gilstrap’s 1,351 in tonight’s primary. Gilstrap is a former state senator.

Incumbent Commissioner Ann Brandau Murguia led the 3rd District contest with 382 votes, with Christian Ramirez in second place with 234.

In the 4th District, Incumbent Commissioner Harold Johnson had 313 votes to Jorge Luis Flores’ 231 votes. Challenger Tarence Maddox, a former commissioner, had 203 votes and did not advance to the general election.

Incumbent Robert “Bob” Milan led all candidates in the BPU, District 1, contest, with 1,282 votes. LaRon Thompson advanced to the general election with 750 votes.

The primary results are unofficial. According to the election office, there will be an audit of at least two races and two precincts for this election, beginning at 9 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 8, at the election office. Then, the Board of Canvassers will meet to certify the election.

Unofficial primary election results
With 105 precincts of 105 counted
Registered voters total 76,664
Ballots cast 7,130
Voter turnout 9.3 percent

UG Commissioner at large, District 1
Melissa Brune Bynum (i) 2,709
Mark Gilstrap 1,351
Steven James 612

UG Commissioner, District 3
Mary V. Gerlt 171
Ann Murguia (i) 382
Christian A. Ramirez 234

UG Commissioner, District 4
Jorge Luis Flores 231
Harold Johnson (I) 313
Tarence L. Maddox 203

BPU, at large, Position 3
Chiquita C. Coggs 569
David Haley 2,400
Rose Mulvany Henry 1,607
Melissa Oropeza-Vail 638
Faith L. Rivera 617
Norman D. Scott (i) 1,067

BPU, District 1
Robert “Bob” Milan (i) 1,282
Ken Snyder 406
LaRon Thompson 750

BPU, District 3
Jeff Bryant (i) 465
Aaron Coleman 229
Dustin K. Dye 312
Stan S. Frownfelter 653

(i) stands for incumbent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *