Voters’ guide for the 2020 general election

Wyandotte County voters this year will see several contests on their general election ballots for Tuesday, Nov. 3.

At the top of the ballot are candidates for president and vice president: Donald Trump and Mike Pence, Republican; Joe Biden and Kamala Harris, Democratic; and Jo Jorgensen and Jeremy Cohen, Libertarian.

There also are contests for the U.S. Senate, U.S. House, Kansas Senate and Kansas House on the Wyandotte County ballot. Also, judges and the Wyandotte County district attorney are on the general election ballot, without opposition.

Thousands of advance ballots were mailed to voters last week in Wyandotte County, and may be returned by mail, or at any advance voting sites while they are open; at the Election Office; and on Election Day at any polling place in Wyandotte County. There are two drop boxes at the Election Office at 850 State Ave. The locations of the additional drop boxes include the Bonner Springs City Library, 201 N. Nettleton Ave., Bonner Springs; Edwardsville City Hall, 690 S. 4th St., Edwardsville; Kansas City, Kansas, City Hall, 701 N. 7th; and the West Wyandotte Library, 1737 N. 82nd St., Kansas City, Kansas.

Advance voting in-person begins on Tuesday, Oct. 20, at two sites in Wyandotte County: the Election Office at 850 State Ave. and Eisenhower Recreation Center at 2901 N. 72nd St. The Amayo-Argentine Community Center at 2910 Metropolitan will open Oct. 24 for advance voting. More details on hours and days they are open are at

Candidate forums for the Kansas House and Kansas Senate are being shown on KCEC Cable television station at KCKCC, on Spectrum Cable (Wyandotte County) on Channel 17, and on Google TV on Channel 146. The forums will be shown now through Nov. 2. The forums also are on YouTube at

Links to stories about the candidates

U.S. Senate

Candidates on the ballot for U.S. Senator include Roger Marshall, Great Bend, Republican; Barbara Bollier, Mission Hills, Democratic; and Jason Buckley, Overland Park, Libertarian.

To see stories about the U.S. Senate candidates, visit

U.S. Representative, 3rd District

Running for U.S. Representative, 3rd District, are incumbent Rep. Sharice L. Davids, Roeland Park, Democratic; Amanda L. Adkins, Overland Park, Republican; and Steve A. Hohe, Shawnee, Libertarian.

To see stories about the U.S. Representative, 3rd District, contest, visit:

Candidates for Kansas Senate

There will be one Kansas Senate contest and one Kansas Representative contest on each voter’s ballot.

Three incumbents, State Sen. David Haley, D-4th Dist., State Sen. Pat Pettey, D-6th Dist, and State Sen. Kevin Braun, R-5th Dist., are running for re-election to the state Senate.

Their opponents include Sam Stillwell, Republican, running for 4th District; Diana Whittington, Republican, running for 6th District; and Jeff Pittman, Democrat, running for 5th District.

A candidates’ forum for state Senate sponsored by Business West and Kansas City Kansas Community College is online at

A questionnaire from Sen. David Haley is at

The Wyandotte Daily received no response to a phone call and a message to Sam Stillwell.

A questionnaire from Sen. Kevin Braun is at

A questionnaire from Jeff Pittman is at

A questionnaire from Sen. Pat Pettey is at

A questionnaire from Diana Whittington is at

Candidates for Kansas House

Candidates on the ballot for the Kansas House include Rep. Louis Ruiz, D-31st Dist., Landon Griffith, Republican; Rep. Pam Curtis, D-32nd Dist., Greg Conchola, Republican; Rep. Tom Burroughs, D-33rd Dist., Jordan M. Mackey, Republican; and Rick Parsons, Libertarian; Rep. Valdenia C. Winn, D-34th Dist.; Rep. Broderick Henderson, D-35th Dist.; Mark D. Snelson, Republican; Rep. Kathy Wolfe Moore, D-36th Dist.; and Mark Gilstrap, Republican; and Aaron Coleman, Democrat running for 37th District.

Also, incumbent Rep. Stan Frownfelter, D-37th Dist., who lost in the primary, is running as a write-in candidate in the 37th District. There are two other write-in candidates in the 37th District, including Kristina Smith, a Republican, and Keith Jordan, a Democrat.

A story about the 37th District is at

A story about several candidates who participated in a candidate forum for the Kansas House is at

A video forum with Kansas House candidates, sponsored by Business West and KCKCC, is online at

A story about the 36th District is at

Questionnaire from Landon Griffith, candidate for the 31st District, is at

Questionnaire from Rep. Broderick Henderson, candidate for 35th District,

Questionnaire from Rep. Kathy Wolfe Moore, D-36th Dist., is at

Questionnaire from Rep. Stan Frownfelter, candidate for 37th District,

Information from Aaron Coleman, 37th District Democratic primary winner:

Judicial candidates on ballot

The general election ballot also contains a number of judges up for retention. They do not have opposition.

Also on the ballot is the Wyandotte County District Attorney, where Mark A. Dupree Sr., a Democrat, is running unopposed.

Judges in the 29th District (Wyandotte County District Court), who are running unopposed include: Robert P. Burns, Division 1; Michael A. Russell, Division 2; Courtney Mikesic, Division 7; Jane Sieve Wilson, Division 8; Daniel Cahill, Division 9; Renee S . Henry, Division 13; Jennifer Orth Myers, Division 14; and Constance M. Alvey, Division 16.

Kansas Supreme Court Justice Eric S. Rosen, Topeka, is up for retention in Position No. 4.

For the Kansas Court of Appeals, judges who are up for retention include Sarah E. Warner, Lenexa, Position No. 4; David E. Bruns, Olathe, Position No. 6; G. Gordon Atcheson, Overland Park, Position No. 8; Karen M. Arnold-Burger, Overland Park, Position No. 9; and Kathryn Gardner, Topeka, Position No. 14.

Other stories on the election

Other stories about the 2020 election:

Opinion: More conservative legislature predicted.

Voting: Wyandotte County to get four additional drop boxes for ballots.

Candidate forum schedule for cable TV and YouTube:

Election 2020 stories are under the category on the right side of the Wyandotte Daily page, and also at

To find your polling place and see what’s on the ballot, visit Voter View at

The Wyandotte County Election Office at 850 State Ave., Kansas City, Kansas, has more information about voter registration, mail ballots and advance voting at, or email, or call the Election Office at 913-573-8500.

Links to other Election 2020 stories will be added to this story as the campaign goes on.

3 thoughts on “Voters’ guide for the 2020 general election”

  1. For those interested in the Wyandotte County DA Election Kristiane Bryant IS running as a “Write In” Candidate against Mark Dupree. Please be sure to make note and spell her name correctly for your vote to count should you elect to cast your vote for her.

  2. Why doesn’t my vote show up? I voted early to make room for others who aren’t retired and I voted on 75 and Parallel at the polling place. I want to know if MY vote got counted!!! How do I find thin information. With all the voter fraud going on in the country I want to know that MY vote was counted!!! Thank you for your help! Ruth M Holtorf ♥️🇺🇸♥️🇺🇸

    1. If you go to the Voter View website on the Kansas secretary of state’s website, you can enter your name and information and it will tell you if your vote was received.

      Update: Today the Kansas secretary of state’s office posted that these votes in person will be updated after the election is certified in each county. That should be after Nov. 16 here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *