Voters to go to polls Aug. 1 for primary election

Voters will go to the polls Tuesday, Aug. 1, in Wyandotte County for the primary election for city, county and Board of Public Utilities positions.

Unified Government mayor-CEO, Wyandotte County sheriff, Unified Government Commission districts 5, 7 and 8, and Board of Public Utilities, 1st District at large, are on the ballot on Tuesday.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters should bring a driver’s license or other form of approved identification.

These are all nonpartisan positions, and all registered voters may vote in the primary regardless of their party affiliation.

For information on polling places, voting requirements and other election information, visit the Election Commissioner’s website at or, or call the election office at 913-573-8500 or email

Following are links to stories about the election:


David Alvey,

David Haley,

Mark Holland, incumbent,

Keith Jordan,

Janice Witt,

Wyandotte County Sheriff,
Donald Ash, incumbent, Charles W. Bunnell, Marvin L. Main, Celisha Towers, and Victor Webb

Unified Government Commission, 5th District,
John Fotovich, Mike Kane, incumbent, and Sarah Kremer

Unified Government Commission, 8th District,
Brad Isnard, Kendon McClaine, and Jane Winkler Philbrook, incumbent

Unified Government Commission, 7th District,
George Cooper, Jim A. Gibson, and Jim Walters, incumbent

Board of Public Utilities, 1st District at large,
Kevin Braun, Mary Gonzales, incumbent, Bryan Messmer, and Nikole C. Owens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *