Voting opens for Sporting KC annual awards

Voting is now open for Sporting Kansas City’s annual team awards, to be presented at the club’s Pitch Black celebration on Saturday, Oct. 11 at Sporting Park.

Fans can vote online at through 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 9.

Pitch Black will welcome fans alongside Sporting Kansas City players and coaches for a night of drinks, dining and live entertainment on the field at Sporting Park from 7 to 11 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 11. Individual tickets are available online for $99 with a portion of the proceeds benefiting The Victory Project in its mission to help children thrive through life’s challenges.

Sporting Kansas City will recognize award winners in the following categories:

• Most Valuable Player
◦Nominees: Dom Dwyer, Benny Feilhaber, Graham Zusi
• Offensive Player of the Year
◦Nominees: Dom Dwyer, Benny Feilhaber, Graham Zusi
• Defensive Player of the Year
◦Nominees: Matt Besler, Aurelien Collin, Igor Juliao, Eric Kronberg, Seth Sinovic
• Goal of the Year
◦Nominees: Dom Dwyer (March 29), Benny Feilhaber (July 16), Soony Saad (Aug. 16)
• Newcomer of the Year
◦Nominees: Antonio Dovale, Andy Gruenebaum, Igor Juliao, Sal Zizzo
• Golden Boot
◦Awarded to the team’s top goal scorer
• The Victory Project Humanitarian of the Year
◦Awarded to the team’s most philanthropic player
• Bob Gansler Award
◦Awarded to an outstanding Sporting KC Academy player
• Sporting Club Network Club of the Year
• Academy Affiliate Club of the Year
– Story from Sporting KC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *