Unofficial final election results

In final unofficial results for the general election, Democrat Sharice Davids won election over Republican incumbent Kevin Yoder for the U.S. representative, 3rd District seat, with 53 percent to 44 percent of the vote.

In the governor’s contest, Laura Kelly, Democrat, won with 48 percent to Kris Kobach’s 43 percent.

In the Kansas House, 36th District, incumbent Democrat Kathy Wolfe Moore won re-election with 70 percent of the vote to Republican Chiquita C. Coggs’ 30 percent.

Wyandotte County final unofficial results are in. These results do not include ballots that were mailed by Tuesday’s deadline and are in the mail, and do not include provisional ballots that could be counted at the vote canvass. Voter turnout was 49.13 percent in Wyandotte County.

General election
Final unofficial results in Wyandotte County

(Contested races only)

U.S. representative, 3rd District

Wyandotte County
Sharice Davids, Democrat 27,424
Kevin Yoder, incumbent, Republican 11,832
Chris Clemmons, Libertarian 1,255
District-wide, with 628 precincts of 628 reporting
Sharice Davids, Democrat 164,253
Kevin Yoder, incumbent, Republican 136,104
Chris Clemmons, Libertarian 7,643

Governor and lieutenant governor
Wyandotte County
Laura Kelly and Lynn Rogers, Democrat 27,052
Kris Kobach and Wink Hartman, Republican 10,279
Greg Orman and John Doll, independent 1,627
Jeff Caldwell and Mary Gerlt, Libertarian 1,255
Rick Kloos and Nathaniel Kloos, independent 287
State-wide, with 3,556 of 3,556 precincts reporting
Laura Kelly and Lynn Rogers, Democrat 489,337
Kris Kobach and Wink Hartman, Republican 443,346
Jeff Caldwell and Mary Gerlt, Libertarian 18,898
Rick Kloos and Nathaniel Kloos, independent 6,232

Secretary of state
Wyandotte County
Brian “BAM” McClendon, Democrat 26,075
Scott Schwab, Republican 12,233
Rob Hodgkinson, Libertarian 1,458
State-wide, with 3,556 of 3,556 precincts reporting
Brian “BAM” McClendon, Democrat 441,444
Scott Schwab, Republican 536,472
Rob Hodgkinson, Libertarian 35,515

Attorney general

Wyandotte County
Derek Schmidt, Republican 12,486
Sarah G. Swain, Democrat 27,285
State-wide, 3,556 of 3,556 precincts reporting
Derek Schmidt, Republican 599,773
Sarah G. Swain, Democrat 410,881

State treasurer
Wyandotte County
Marci Francisco, Democrat 27,135
Jake LaTurner, Republican 12,311
State-wide, 3,556 of 3,556 precincts reporting
Marci Francisco, Democrat 421,425
Jake LaTurner, Republican 584,039

Commissioner of insurance
Wyandotte County
Nathaniel McLaughlin, Democrat 26,312
Vicki Schmidt, Republican 13,069
State-wide, 3,556 of 3,556 precincts reporting
Nathaniel McLaughlin, Democrat 365,404
Vicki Schmidt, Republican 628,635

State representative, 33rd District
Tom Burroughs, Democrat 4,573
Jason Conley, Libertarian 1,991

State representative, 36th District
Chiquita C. Coggs, Republican 3,003
Kathy Wolfe Moore, Democrat 6,904

State Board of Education, 1st District
Wyandotte County
Janet Waugh, Democrat 27,806
Michael Powell, Republican 11,292
District-wide, with 225 of 225 precincts reporting
Janet Waugh, Democrat 49,977
Michael Powell, Republican 33,316

Wyandotte County voter turnout of almost 48 percent tops previous midterm record

Voter turnout has set a record for midterm elections, exceeding 47.9 percent, according to Election Commissioner Bruce Newby.

Turnout on Election Day as of 7 p.m. was 23,985, Newby stated. Adding early voting of 7,686 and ballots cast by mail of 8,309, the total turnout was 39,980.

The turnout percentage of 47.9 percent was higher than the previous turnout record in midterm elections of 44 percent, set in 2002, Newby stated.

The turnout numbers do not include by-mail ballots that were dropped off at a polling place today, or ballots they will receive through the end of this week that were postmarked by 7 p.m. today, according to Newby. The count also does not include provisional ballots that are counted when approved by the Wyandotte County Board of Canvassers.

Newby stated that the number of provisional ballots won’t be determined until there is a good count on Wednesday, Newby stated. From early indications, the number of provisional ballots will not exceed what is normal for this number of voters, he stated.

Newby also stated that there were several calls about problems that were relatively minor, and that the election office was able to correct those quickly.

ACLU receives election hotline calls from Wyandotte County

The ACLU of Kansas received 17 calls from Wyandotte County to its Election Protection hotline during voting today.

According to Mark McCormick, director of strategic communications for the ACLU, five of the calls were from people who did not want to vote at a Kansas City, Kansas, Police Department building.

The South Patrol police station in the Argentine area of Kansas City, Kansas, is one of the polling places.

He said there was also some confusion from voters who called the ACLU and who thought their polling place was at the Argentine Community Center, not the community room at the police station.

McCormick said two of the 17 calls were about provisional ballots.

There were no calls about anyone being turned away from the polls, he said. The 17 calls were received by about 5:30 p.m. Tuesday.

The ACLU’s Election Protection hotline number:

866-OUR-VOTE provides assistance in English – administered by the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law;
888-VE-Y-VOTA provides bilingual assistance in English and Spanish – administered by NALEO Educational Fund;
888-API-VOTE provides assistance in Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, Begali, Hindi, Urdu and Tagalog – administered by APIA Vote and Asian Americans Advancing Justice (AAJC).